Fixing Experts Exchange With Greasemonkey

May 11, 2007

Well, I’m a bit behind the curve here. I hadn’t until now felt the need to install GreaseMonkey, but Experts Exchange (which frequently shows up in my Google search results) have started to blur the comments people make on the questions. You have to sign up to view them, and since I have a pathalogical aversion to such inconveniences as 30 seconds of registration I did what any good programmer would and spent 10 minutes writing a script to solve the program.

The script plugs into GreaseMonkey and first removes the blurring, which is just done by an overlay, and then replaces the answer text with its ROT13ed equivalent, since thats the “encryption” they have opted to use! Anyway, the whole thing is basically a mashup of the scripts here and here, but I include the full source below for your convenience: do with it as you will.

// ==UserScript==
// @name ExpertsExchangeFilter 2
// @namespace All
// @description Remove Experts Exchange Stuff
// @include http://experts-exchange.com/*
// @include http://www.experts-exchange.com/*
// ==/UserScript==

function rot13(src) {
var dst = new String('');
var b;
var t = new String('');
var clear = 0;
for (var ctr = 0; ctr < src.length; ctr++) {
b = src.charCodeAt(ctr);
if (60 == b || 91 == b) {
clear = 1;
}
if (!clear) {
if (((b>64) && (b<78)) || ((b>96) && (b<110))) {
b = b + 13;
} else {
if (((b>77) && (b<91)) || ((b>109) && (b<123))) {
b = b - 13;
}
}
}
t = String.fromCharCode(b);
dst = dst.concat(t);
if (b == 62 || b == 93) {
clear = 0;
}
}
return dst;
};

a = document.getElementsByTagName('div')
for (i = 0; i < a.length; i++)
{
if (a[i].className == 'infoBody')
{ a[i].removeChild(a[i].childNodes[1]); }
else if (a[i].className == 'answerBody quoted')
{ a[i].innerHTML = rot13(a[i].innerHTML); }
}

5 Responses to “Fixing Experts Exchange With Greasemonkey”


  1. God damn WordPress! I even used a “code” tag this time and it still ate the formatting! There are plugins to fix this, but of course they don’t have them installed on wordpress.com.. it’s only a mercy I’m not trying to present some Python.

  2. Sahmeepee Says:

    Nice fix. As soon as I came across this annoying change to EE I thought of greasemonkey…

    I’m not sure if you realise, but signing up to EE is not free, which might leave your script in legally treacherous territory. Still, it’s just doing what view source and a trip to rot13.com can do, only quicker, so I give it 2 thumbs up!


  3. […] it to everyone.) “I bet someone’s written a Greasemonkey script for this”, I exclaimed, and lo, they had.  I reproduce it here with a nice little click-to-install as the author’s WordPress eats the […]

  4. jon Says:

    I tried this script and I couldn’t get it to work.

    You can also get around the blurring by viewing Google’s cached version of the page.


  5. It still works for me. Did you try the version packaged up in the “Off the record” blog post?


Comments are closed.